Salty

Last year I reported on my strange, early-morning moments when, awakened by hunger but with too little energy to walk 20 steps to find something to eat, I would drift restlessly back to sleep with an unsatisfied stomach.

Today, I bring you a similar story, but at the opposite time of day: The mid- to late-afternoon munchies.

Sure, I have farm-fresh apples and pears that I could always munch on. Yes, I have a yogurt (Soy! It doesn’t have the weird texture!) that I could slurp up. But what I really want is something salty.

Like a burger.

Instead, I begrudgingly chip away at a dark chocolate bar with whole hazelnuts inside, dreaming of the time I’ll set aside to make some salty snacks. (I know, I know. #firstworldproblems.)

Well folks, that time has come.

Voila, my salty snack. I adapted this oh-so-easy recipe from La Tartine Gourmande, who adapted her recipe from The Sprouted Kitchen Cookbook. There’s really not a lot that needs to be said about these crunchy, salty snacks. They’re easy, infinitely adaptable to what nuts and/or spices you have on hand, and quick to make. They may not be a burger, but they’ll do.
Salty, toasted nuts
adapted from this recipe
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 cups mixed nuts – I had pecans, cashews, and pumpkin seeds on hand
  • 2 tablespoons sesame seeds (what I used), flax seeds, or other small seed
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon – 1/2 teaspoon pepper flakes (I just bought some Aleppo pepper and have become obsessed, but crushed red pepper would be good too)
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt + a few pinches of a coarse salt
  • a few grinds of black pepper
  • a few sprigs of fresh rosemary, leaves removed and finely chopped

Preheat oven to 300 Fahrenheit; line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. In a medium bowl, beat the egg white until frothy. Add the spices, salts, and herbs, beating to combine. Stir in the nuts and seeds, combining until they’re all covered in the egg white mixture. Spread the whole mess evenly over the prepared baking sheet. Bake for 25-30 minutes, until nuts are toasty and fragrant. Let cool before serving.

Kara

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 483 other followers

