Snowy Soupy Day

We are so lucky in Colorado to have four distinct seasons.  The only thing is… a lot of times, it gets a little mixed up!  Everything doesn’t quite happen when it is supposed to.  Take today, for example, it’s snowing.

This isn’t the earliest I have seen snow here, a few years ago it was snowing in September.  No, I am not kidding.  And yes, I do remember one June storm.  When it snows, I love having warm comforty food, and usually soup is on the menu.

We love playing outside with the kids in the snow, ‘cause let’s just face it…we are just big kids too!

                                                   

One of my absolute favorite soups comes from my childhood, and my mom’s baked potato soup is the best ever!  Shortly after we moved to Colorado, and my parents moved to Germany, I was dying for my mom’s soup.  She was so kind and patient with me, as I tried to figure it out.  Seriously, when I learned how to make this soup, she had to explain to me what a roux is. Luckily, I’ve grown up a bit from those days.

Mom’s Baked Potato Soup

  • 5 russet potatoes (I use one potato per person)
  • 1 sweet onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 4 tablespoons flour
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • ½ teaspoon black pepper
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 4 cups milk
  • 1 cup ham, cubed
  • 1 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated

Pierce the potatoes, and bake the potatoes in a 400-degree oven.  It usually takes about an hour.  The potatoes can absolutely be baked ahead of time and stored in the refrigerator until needed.

To prepare the soup, peel the baked and cooled potatoes, and chop into cubes.

       

In a large pot, sauté the onion and garlic in the butter until they are translucent.

       

Sprinkle the flour over the top and stir with a whisk or wooden spoon.  Season the roux with the salt, pepper, and thyme.

After the roux has a bit of color to it, add the potatoes to the pot.  Add the milk, and bring to a gentle boil.

After the soup thickens a bit, take about 2 cups out and puree the mixture, and return it to the pot.

       

This should thicken the soup a little more.  Add the ham and cheddar cheese, stirring until the cheese has completely melted.  Taste, and if needed, add more salt and/ or pepper.

To serve, simply dish the soup into a pretty bowl!  Feel free to garnish the soup with anything that sounds good.  Personally, I love fresh dill and green onions.  My husband goes for sour cream and of course, bacon.  My kids all take more cheese on top.

       

I must say that this soup (or any soup for that matter) goes particularly well with Kara’s Hot Toddy.  I personally like it made with chai spiced black tea.

Cheers!

Janessa

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Snowy Soupy Day

  1. Uummy! We have lots of soupy days here, I’ll have to add this to my list.🙂

Leave a Reply

