And just like that

We did it! We moved to DC. It happened like so:

Friday night, over drinks – hear about cool apartment that has been on Craigslist for a week, which means something is definitely wrong with it.
Saturday morning – wake up to an email from a realtor that the aforementioned apartment has just been listed.
Sunday morning – go see apartment, discover it’s actually pretty nice.
Sunday night – hand in application
Wednesday – application approved, go sign lease (this also happened to be November 30th, aka the last day of our lease in Gettysburg)
Thursday – boom, move to DC.

We now live in a cute little basement apartment that is (dare I say) so trendy with an exposed brick wall. Like, hipsters-will-be-très-jaloux brick wall.

 More importantly, the kitchen is fairly adorable. It’s a little cramped, the two narrow drawers run into each other when you open one, but who cares because it’s in DC and it lets me make food – like this little gem of a lunch, adapted from Heidi Swanson’s quesadilla recipe.

This takes five minutes to make, and you can adapt to make it from anything you have on hand.

Lunch

  • 1 corn tortilla
  • 1 egg, beaten with a pinch of salt
  • additions: cheese, sour cream, lemon or lime zest, herbs, beans, leftover meat in bite-size pieces, salsa, barbecue sauce, etc.

Warm a little oil in a small skillet (just big enough to fit the tortilla). Add the egg and rotate to cover skillet’s surface; let set for just 10 – 15 seconds, then place the tortilla on the egg. After the egg sets enough to flip (about a minute), flip everything and place a little cheese and other light additions (herbs or spices) on the egg. Cook until the tortilla is nicely browned. Top with heavier additions (sauces, beans, meat).

I like to add some shredded cheddar on the egg, then top with a dollop of sour cream with a little lime zest and cumin mixed in. This would be a great place for some leftover frijoles. Feeling more like barbecue? Top with some grilled chicken and barbecue sauce. Greek? Put some feta and dill on the egg, then top with a little Greek yogurt (or better yet, this) and some tomato and cucumber slices. You can go anywhere with this.

~~~


Now, though, I am home, with my parents, in Germany, a little jet-lagged, and abusing commas. Yesterday I fell asleep in my corner of the couch to the sounds of Val Kilmer’s The Saint (because tell me, who doesn’t love a good Val Kilmer movie?) and my dad’s light (hah, sarcasm) snoring from his nearby chair. Later we went to a tiny Weihnachtsmarkt in a nearby village and ate Bratapfel mit Nußmantel in Vanillesoße while drinking Glühwein.  Mom made tacos, which I topped with barbecue sauce. All was right in the world.

I found these cookies on the kitchen table this morning.

I got to play the piano for the first time in months.

And I’m going to go take a walk now, because it looks like this outside.

I’ll be here for a few weeks, and you can be sure to expect a few mother-daughter recipes to come your way. They may or may not be done in Bobby Flay’s Throwdown method. We shall see.

Kara

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “And just like that

  1. Kelly says:

    I: (1) love your description of the apartment, (2) am very upset that I just finished off my last corn tortilla yesterday, and (3) am very jealous that you are drinking Glühwein while I am not. Can’t wait to see the mother-daughter combo recipes!

  2. Angie says:

    Adam thinks it’s so gross that I put barbeque sauce on tacos. Now I’m remembering it wasn’t just my family that did it! I love that the three of you have this blog! My mom still raves about all the great food your mom makes.

Leave a Reply

