An occasion for baked goods

Whew, what a week. I hope those pineapple tamales have whet your appetites for something sweet, because I’m bringing you another slightly sweet treat, and a bit of good news. Two bits of good news, actually!

First, the cutest news:

This is Charlie.

I know, right?

And secondly, I got a job. A real, not part-time job, which I started Monday.
Like I said, what a week.

I discovered on Friday that aside from being an interesting job, it will also provide me with ample opportunity to make baked goods – which, let’s face it, ultimately benefits you.

In honor of this crazy week of jobs and dogs, I made a little cookie for you. Don’t worry, it’s not tooooo sweet. I don’t want to sugar bomb you on my first real dessert-y post. But, it’s a start.

   

Zaletti
Cornmeal Cookies
adapted from David Leibovitz, who in turn adapted it from The Italian Baker by Carol Field

  • 3/4 cup dried fruit, such as golden raisins or currants (chopped if larger fruit)
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • 5 1/2 ounces (11 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 cup polenta, regular or coarse
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt

1. Toss the dried fruit and the 2 tablespoons of flour together in a small bowl and set aside.

2. In the bowl of a stand mixer (or by hand) beat together the butter and sugar until smooth and creamy, about one minute.

3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the 1 1/2 cups flour, polenta, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt.

4. Mix the dry ingredients into the beaten butter mixture until incorporated, then stir in the dried fruit.

5. Form the dough into two logs, about 2 to 2 1/2 inches in diameter. Wrap in plastic and chill the dough for about an hour.

6. About 15 minutes before you’re ready to bake, preheat the oven to 325ºF.

8. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats.

9. Slice the cookies into 1/4-inch slices and place them evenly spaced on the prepared baking sheets.

10. Bake the cookies for about 12 minutes, rotating the baking sheets midway during baking, until the cookies are very light brown on top. Remove the oven and let cool completely.

Yield: about 50 cookies

The cookies keep for about four days in an airtight container. Dough keeps in the refrigerator for up to a week, or in the freezer for one or two months.

I find these cookies go really well with Cafe de Olla, to which I’ve incidentally become very addicted. Speaking of Pati’s Mexican table, I’m going to one of her cooking classes tomorrow and I am so excited. (Thanks, Mom and Dad!) I’ll let you know how it goes in a future post, and maybe I’ll even get a few pictures.

Have a good rest of the week, everyone!

Kara

Leave a Reply

