The place we live

Just a quick note to say hello, and pass on a few tid-bits and photos from a recent trip to Washington state.

This is the place I used to live. Most of my dad’s side of the family gathered a few weekends ago for a celebration.  I will admit, it was a little strange to be back. It seems so, so far away, and so, so long ago.

(My grandma showed us this picture of her mother and father. Dapper.)

I visited my best friend this past weekend, and she took me here

Most people know that Michigan is shaped like a mitten, or Oklahoma is a pan. But do you know all the rest?

I made this last week, for dinner. I’m going to make it again very soon for a late Saturday breakfast. It’s so good. Make it now.

We made this tonight, which coincidentally is also from Yotam Ottolenghi, and also from his book Plenty. This is probably a sign that I need to get this book.

Did you hear about the teddy bears in Belarus?

Really, really want to make this. Might need a food processor first. Conundrum.

Two words: Mayo. Matrix.

Almost every day, I find out that you can make things from scratch that I didn’t even know could be made from scratch. Yep, some basic ingredients actually don’t have to be made in a giant, mysterious factory. Who knew.

That’s all for now. I’m working on a recipe that I’m really excited about: spicy peach butter barbecue sauce. It requires a bit of work, but I’m hoping it will be worth it.

Kara

P.S. I found out this exists, and I felt immediately compelled to poke fun at the name. It is, however, some very good cheese.

Tagged , ,

One thought on “The place we live

  1. Warriormania says:

    Very sedimental outlook to keep traditions memerable and ongoing.

Leave a Reply

