Red Velvet

Guess what?!? I got a really cute new apron.

 I thought what better way to break it in, then by baking a red velvet cake. Every time I bake this cake, I end up with a nice red stain on my shirt, so this apron will be a very good thing.

My husband has never been a big fan of this cake, because he hates the idea of food coloring. I still haven’t been able to talk myself into making just a “velvet” cake. It just wouldn’t be as pretty!! I’m not quite sure how I got started on this recipe, and I have changed it a lot throughout the years. So, if it came from you, let me know and I will give you credit!

First of all, here is the recipe:

Red Velvet Cake

  • 3 ¼ cups flour
  • 1 ¼ teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 ¼ teaspoons salt
  • ½ cup cocoa powder
  • 1 ½ cups vegetable oil
  • 1 ¾ cups granulated sugar
  • ½ cup sour cream
  • 1 ¼ cups buttermilk
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 bottle red food coloring, 1 fluid oz.
  • 1 ¼ teaspoons white vinegar (I love champagne vinegar)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla (I make my own, I will share that with you soon)

To start, combine all of the dry ingredients in a large bowl.

In the bowl for your mixer, add the oil and sugar. Mix on low until combined.  Add the sour cream and buttermilk, mix. Add the eggs, red food coloring, and vanilla.  Mix on medium until they are thoroughly combined.

Add the dry ingredients, a little bit at a time. Mix each addition until just combined.

Ta dah!!! See how pretty it looks?

Brownish gray cake would NOT be this pretty (ahem, hubby…I’m talking to you!)

Pour the batter into 3 prepared round cake pans. I always grease the pans with butter, and then dust them with flour. I have tried the sprays, and the cake just stick and I get really mad!

Bake in a preheated 325-degree oven. Keep in mind, I live at high altitude. If you do not, raise the oven temperature by 25 degrees.

After the cakes come out of the oven, let them cool for about 15 minutes on a wire cooling rack. After they are cool, them over on the cooling rack.

While the cakes are cooling, make the frosting!

 Cream Cheese Frosting
I always use my favorite cream cheese recipe.  It came from the pink Betty Crocker cookbook, and I have barely changed it.

  • 1 8-ounce package cream cheese, at room temperature
  • ½ cup butter (one stick), at room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 5 ½ cups powdered sugar

Combine the cream cheese and butter in a mixer bowl. Beat on medium speed for about 2 minutes, until it is fairly fluffy. Add the vanilla and mix until combined. Add 3 cups of the powdered sugar and mix until combined. Add the remaining 2 1/2 cups of powdered and mix. After it is completely combined, turn the mixer to medium to medium-high speed. Beat for 3-5 minutes until the frosting is light and fluffy. Check the consistency, and if needed you can add milk or cream to make it easy to spread.

After the cakes are completely cooled, feel free to frost them. I do like a pretty cake, so I always slice the extra little bit off the top of each layer. You don’t have to, but it looks so much prettier if you do!

Start layering the cake, and put a light layer of frosting between each layer.  Finally frost the top and sides of the cake.

 

Janessa

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

