Shrimp pizza

Hi there!

Did you find Linda’s blog? It’s pretty fabulous, if I may say.

I hate to jump on the how-is-it-already-almost-December train, but, well, HOW IS IT ALREADY ALMOST DECEMBER?!

In our little blogging absence, a lot has been happening. Friend(s) had baby! Friends from what feels like long ago (aka, high school) got married! People are moving! (More on that later, for it is not quite my news to break). And now, it’s time for birthdays, holidays, celebrations, finals, end-of-year budget deals, and good, old fashioned being togetherness.

Sigh.

So today, I bring a recipe that reeeeally takes me back – back to when I was a bit of a picky eater and preferred to eat my pizza with the toppings scraped off (in other words, I preferred to eat bread. Full stop.), and insisted that my parents put way too much sauce on their pizza, and if I were to eat pizza, it would only be pizza with barely a smidgen of sauce, a smattering of cheese, and loaded with shrimp. Yeah, shrimp. I was that girl who  loved the big bag of frozen, pre-cooked shrimp from Costco. On her pizza. Luckily for me, it turns out shrimp on pizza is actually quite delicious. See below.

Shrimp Pizza
adapted from my childhood

  • 1 pizza crust, I used this recipe which makes 3 crusts, leaving opportunity to freeze leftover, unbaked crusts
  • A little pizza sauce of your choosing. And only a little. I mean it.
  • Cheese of your choosing – I used smoked mozzarella
  • A vegetable, such as cut up broccoli florets, or strips of bell pepper, or something like that, if you want
  • Enough shrimp to cover your pizza – fresh is great, frozen works; pre-cooked or raw, choose your preference (I used frozen raw)

1. Preheat oven to 480 Fahrenheit with a pizza stone or heavy baking sheet in the oven.

2. Roll out pizza crust, arrange on parchment paper that will fit on pizza stone or baking sheet.

3. Assemble pizza: First put a shear layer of sauce, then add a sprinkling of cheese. If you are using fresh or frozen raw shrimp, cook the shrimp first. Just saute them for 5 – 8 minutes in a pan with a little oil or butter until they get all pink and done, and they’re ready to go. Scatter the shrimp over the pizza. If you like, add some nice color and/or crunch with some chopped broccoli or sliced bell pepper. Sprinkle another layer of cheese. Grind some pepper or red pepper on top, if you want a little spice.

4. Slide pizza into oven, bake for  10-15 minutes, until crust is golden on the edges and the cheese is slightly browned.

P.S. The first two pictures are from Poland. Like I said, a lot has happened since we last checked in! (But no, no one has moved to Poland.) Be back soon with a Polish soup, maybe some cookies (’tis the season), and a few stories.

Kara

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

