Grilled cheese for breakfast (or whenever)

This morning, I was planning on getting up really early to make a yummy breakfast grilled cheese.  Although I did wake up far too early, I didn’t make it for breakfast.  Instead, I made a breakfast-for-lunch grilled cheese.

ingredients

Breakfast grilled cheese

I made scrambled eggs by combining:

  •  6 eggs (this was for 2 adults and 3 kids)
  • 1 tablespoon of heavy cream
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Sliced green onions (my kids claim that they don’t like green onions…but if they come from my gene pool, lets face it… they love them. Even if they don’t realize it yet.)

I cooked the eggs in a buttered skillet until they were almost done.  I left them fairly wet, because they cooked a little more when they were in the sandwich.

eggs

I cooked them a bit more than the picture shows.🙂

After the eggs were ready, I let them sit for a little while to firm up a bit more. While the eggs were resting, I sliced the cheese and tomatoes. I then assembled the sandwich and grilled it!

bread

I used an Irish cheese that was on sale, and it was amazing. The label said it was a “gouda style” cheese, so any gouda would be just as delicious.  For the bread, I used a ciabatta loaf, and sliced it up. Looking back on it, I probably would choose another bread.  The crust got a little chewy when grilled.  It was still good, good, good!

cheeserz

Janessa

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

