Another Day, Another Dollar — I Mean Grilled Cheese

If your husband is a hunter like mine, you probably need a few new ways to use the meat. My hubby had Italian sausage made out of some of the elk, and it is actually quite delicious.  Yes, until about a month ago, I was convinced I wouldn’t like game meat. Surprise!!! I love it.  (Side note…if your husband isn’t a hunter, just use any sausage!)

ingredients

First things first, thinly slice bell peppers and onions, because everything is better with a plethora of onions. Sautee the peppers and onions in a bit of oil or butter. You don’t want them to cook all the way through, a bit of crunch is good!

cookin

Next, thinly slice sausage. Make sure it is pre-cooked.  You can always cook it beforehand, like we did.

more

I used a ciabatta bread again. It was very inexpensive, what can I say? This time I chose not to spread the outside with butter before grilling. It turned out a lot better, and the crust was not the slightest bit chewy.

Layer cheese (I used Muenster), the onion/pepper mixture, and sausage.

Grill it!

Eat!

grilled

Yum.

Janessa

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

