The Twelfth Day of Grilled Cheese

Surprise, it’s another grilled cheese!

All I have to say is, “What’s this game called? I win!” If you haven’t seen Big Daddy in a while, watch it.  Hilarious.  Anyway, we had a super snowy day, and for some reason school was not cancelled. Really?!? We have a lot out there. Oh well, when the kids came home, my oldest said to me, “Mom, please tell me you are working on another grilled cheese, ’cause that sounds really good.” HAHAHA they have been won over.

I made my own bread this time.  Not because I was feeling particularly homemaker-y, but because it was too cold and gross to make it to the store for more.

bread

To start, slice the bread.  Next, slice some tomatoes and onions, and grill them.  Again, I used my Foreman grill.  Finally, season and grill some steak.  We used a rib eye.  I asked Jason to do the grilling, cause he is pretty awesome at it.  Cook the steak to the desired doneness, but remember it will cook more while the sandwich is being grilled.  Be sure to let the steak rest for 10 or so minutes before slicing.

grill vegetables

slice beef

To assemble the sandwich, layer the tomatoes and onions, steak, and cheese on the bread.  Butter the bread.  Grill!

grilled beef

This was a really, really good sandwich, and the kids even loved it!

Janessa

From the Troika’s table to yours, we wish you a very merry Christmas. Thanks for joining us in the twelve days of grilled cheeses – have a lovely holiday, everyone.

christmas

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

