Chicken Tortilla Soup

After a long, four-day weekend, we had yummy chicken soup on Monday.  We were in the mountains overnight, and I’m so glad I have finally realized that we play a little too hard, and pre-planned a comforting soup for tonight when we returned.

The night before we left to go to the mountains, we had some friends over and made our favorite fried chicken.  I have talked about this recipe before, and it is a must make if you like fried chicken!  We bought two cut up whole chickens, and used the wings, thighs, as well as the spine for a roasted chicken stock. We always make WAY too much food, so we had plenty of chicken left over to go into the soup.

stock

To start, sauté ½ of an onion, 2 cloves of, and one bell pepper, all finely chopped.  After they are slightly softened and aromatic, ladle stock into the pot.

onions and carrots

We added the following spices: salt, pepper, onion powder (I add it pretty much to everything I cook), chili powder, paprika, crushed red pepper (not too much, so the kids would still eat it), and a bit of cumin to appease my husband (I’m not a big fan, the smell reminds me of elephants at the zoo), and 2 bay leaves (just remove them at the end). Next, add sliced chicken as well as any other desired vegetables.

spices

chicken

veggies

Toward the end, we added 1 tablespoon heavy cream, just to give the soup a yummy creaminess.  Lastly, serve the soup and garnish with some grated cotija cheese, and sliced green onions.  Jason also made some fried tortilla strips, and they were delicious!

tortilla strips

Chicken soup!

On the side, we of course served a grilled cheese sandwich.  This time it was ham with colby jack cheese!🙂 It doesn’t quite go with the theme, but it was delicious nonetheless.

Janessa

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. A Table in the Sun says:

    I like having soup ready when I return from a fun filled weekend too. We popped over to Monterey Bay last week, and I’m already working on my second batch. PS….I’m with your husband….bring on the cumin!

    • Thanks for commenting and letting me discover your blog!
      Tami, the recently silent third of the Troika Table (looking forward to having a new kitchen and garden space of my own before long).

Leave a Reply

