Who Doesn’t Love a Little Irish?

I’m not sure which I like more, breakfast foods or St. Patrick’s Day food.  Good thing it’s March, and I have an excuse to have a little extra corned beef!  Almost every time we go out for breakfast, I get corned beef and hash.  Jason doesn’t like any of it, except for the kind I make at home.  Who wouldn’t take that pat on the back?  I know I will!

Normally, this dish consists of ground corned beef, ground onions, very finely diced potatoes, and topped with fried eggs.  I will still eat it, and love it, but Jason won’t.  A few years ago, I decided to find a way to make him love the dish as much as I do.

First off, peel and dice potatoes.  I used Russet potatoes because that’s what we had.  I think I prefer Yukon Gold, though.  They provide a bit of extra creaminess.

Potatoes

diced potatoes

Next, dice one small onion.  Chop leftover cooked corned beef, as well as roasted green chiles just to make the dish a little more Colorado.  It is fantastic!

chilies, corned beef, onion

In a skillet, cook the potatoes in some butter, probably 3 tablespoons or so.  If in question, add more butter.  Lets face it (to quote my least favorite celebrity chef): butter does in fact make it better.  Season the potatoes with salt and pepper.

In a separate skillet, cook the onions, corned beef, and green chiles until the unions are slightly softened in just a bit more butter.

Combine the corned beef mixture with the potatoes, and keep them warm while you make the eggs to go on top.

Corned Beef ‘N Hash

Make as many eggs as you want, and cook them however you like.  My personal favorite is two eggs, fried, over-easy/ almost over-medium-ish.  Place the eggs over the mixture, top with sliced green onions (would you expect anything else?) as well as your favorite hot sauce.

Corned Beef ‘N Hash with Egg and Sauce

Enjoy, especially since it is almost St. Patty’s Day!

Janessa

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

