L + M are for Lemon + Meringue Squares

A while back, Jason had a special request for dessert.  I had made a delicious lemon cake, and the filling consisted of lemon curd.  I am, especially during the summer months, obsessed with lemon curd.  Back to Jason…he wanted lemon bars using the lemon curd, but also a meringue topping.  It sounded simple enough, so I decided to take on the task for our annual Memorial Day party.  Oh my goodness gracious, these things were amazing!  And I’m not a bar kind of girl.  I think, give me a cookie or give me a cake, but don’t combine them!  But seriously guys, they were remarkable.

I remembered a recipe that Kara had given me for lemon squares from forever ago. I’m talking back in the days of the farm forever ago.  I actually have the children’s cookbook that she got the recipe from, given to me by my grandmother after I had my own kids!  When talking to my mom about this recipe, she informed me that Kara still has the actual cookbook that we used back then.

1

2

Start by making the lemon curd.  This is the recipe I always use, and it is fantastic.  It can be made ahead, and stored in the refrigerator until you are ready to use it.

lemon curd, ready to go

Now, for the crust:

Combine 1 cup of flour, ½ cup of softened butter, and ¼ cup of powdered sugar in a small bowl.  Press the dough into the bottom of an 8×8 ungreased square pan.  Bake in a 350-degree oven for 12-16 minutes.  The recipe calls for 20 minutes in baking time, but I feel like it dries out a bit too much.  Just bake it until the edges are slightly browned.  Whatever you do, DO NOT drop the pan on the ground after you take the picture ‘cause it’s too hot like I did!  It didn’t take too long to make more.🙂

crust

crust in pan

Next, make the meringue topping.  I used another Better Homes and Gardens recipe, but only used the meringue portion.  The pie in this recipe is delicious as well. Try it someday!

the cookbook

 

meringue

Finally, spread the cooled lemon curd on top of the crust, and top with the meringue.  We had some leftover toasted coconut that I put on top of the lemon curd before adding the meringue.  It was so yummy!

lemon curd on crust

 

spread meringue on curd

Bake in a 350 degree oven for about 15 minutes, or until the meringue is lightly browned.  Let the bars cool slightly and cut into desired shape/size.  Enjoy!

baked!

 

yum.

Janessa

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “L + M are for Lemon + Meringue Squares

  1. Linda says:

    I had the same cookbook from when Kelly & Andrew were little!

Leave a Reply

