Tomatoes.

Sometimes you have 90-degree weather in October, and sometimes that means you end up with four bags of tomatoes to take care of because they would have gone in the compost if not for you. (Pat yourself on the back; you’re being rather heroic.)

plenty

One bag of these will turn into oven-dried tomatoes, recipe via Smitten Kitchen. I’ve made these for the past three years, and I always, always regret not having more. I’ve already frozen a bag-full of them and will keep this batch in olive oil in the refrigerator. I usually throw in some herbs while roasting, but today I could only be bothered to drizzle some olive oil, sprinkle some salt, and grate a bit of nutmeg over the tomatoes.

They’ll be perfect.

Roastin'

A few weeks ago, when I was convinced tomato season would be ending any day, I made my annual batch of tomato chutney, recipe courtesy The Wednesday Chef. I’ve also made this for the past two years, and I never bother canning or freezing it because it is always devoured within a few weeks. It’s addictive.

chutney and teasers

The chutney is the red stuff smeared on cream cheese on bread in the photo above. This picture is also a bit of a promotion for upcoming blog posts, and a bit of me being a tease. Fried green tomatoes? Sweet pickled jalapeños? You’ll just have to wait.

(Also I need to tell you: the oven-roasted tomatoes have now been in the oven for an hour, and the whole apartment just started smelling like jammy, sweet, juicy tomatoes, or in other words, it smells incredible, and you should make them so you can smell them, too.)

Speaking of tomato and jam, I think I’ll make tomato jam with some of these rescued tomatoes. Maybe this recipe? Or this one?

We’ve also already made two quarts of tomato sauce, which went straight into the freezer. Can I let you in on a secret? I didn’t bother peeling or seeding the tomatoes. We just took the bad spots out, plopped them in the pan with a roughly-chopped onion, added some salt, pepper, olive oil, and rosemary, and let the sauce simmer away for about 30 minutes before pureeing it into a saucy mess. If “to peel or not to peel” is getting in between you and your tomato sauce-making, just skip the damn peeling and make yourself some sauce already.

There’s also this lovely guide to dealing with bunches of tomatoes, which provides many an inspiration.

And finally, one of the bags is destined not for me, but for someone else. By the way, everyone, I have an announcement to make: It’s big news, and I’ve been a little too shy or hesitant or too something to say this on the blog, but, well, I have a new job. I’m really, really enjoying the new job, and it’s in the food world: I’m Joan Nathan‘s assistant. (!!!!!) So, one bag of tomatoes is for recipe testing because that’s part of my job now. (…!!!) When I started this blog with my mom and sister, I had vague ideas of wanting to work with food somehow but didn’t think this would happen. I now feel a little validated in my hopes and dreams and ambitions, and it’s a very refreshing feeling.

To ambitions, tomatoes, and seasons changing,

Kara

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

